Close

Research

Thanks to its diverse economic base and high quality of life,  Hamburg is one of the fastest-growing regions in Europe: heavy industry, shipping, logistics, aerospace, media, and the creative industries are all strong players in the city’s economy, as are life sciences, commerce, and finance. Focussing on finance and Fintech, Hamburg can boast a broad range of companies with diverse business models; the finance sector employs around 50,000 people in and around the city and generates annual added value of more than €5 billion. In this respect, Hamburg can be considered the capital of the hidden champions: in everything from asset management, export financing, and transport insurance through to material asset investments and specialised financial technology services, the city is home to market leaders.


Fintechs in Hamburg

Hamburg has over 40 Fintechs in analytics and research, assistants and self-service, banking, debt collection, comparison engines, finance, crowd investing, insurance, legal tech, payments, savings, and trade financing. Some of the biggest include Kreditech, a loans company offering short-term finance on the basis of online data, and Deposit Solutions, a platform bringing together savers’ deposits with banks looking for capital; Finanzcheck, meanwhile, is a loans comparison engine and online insurance broker, and then there’s Figo, a company which provides banks with the technical interfaces they need to integrate innovative finance products into their online banking architecture; Exporo is one of the market leaders in crowd-funded property development, while many more of the three dozen plus Fintechs in the city focus on B2B operations. Just go to our regularly updated Fintech Monitor to read up on these and many more of the financial technology companies in and around Hamburg.

Finance in Hamburg

In addition to thebustling, young Fintech scene, Hamburg has a long tradition in finance withvarious institutions deeply interwoven into the real economy: relations areclose, people know each other personally, and this networked approach issomething being developed by Finanzplatz Hamburg, a private cluster initiative for high-level exchange between decision-makers which also runs a Fintech initiative. When it comes to the legal framework in which companies can set up operations, both Germany generally and Hamburg in particular offer an entrepreneur-friendly business environment, and depending on the precise company statute selected and the specific object of operations, entities can be set up with comparatively few legal formalities.

Legal framework for setting up in Hamburg

Almost all forms of enterprise must be carried out by a registered company, but registering a business requires little by way of administrative activity; depending on the legal statute chosen for a new business, the company may have to be added to the commercial register. The Hamburg Chamber of Commerce offers advice on the various options for expanding into Germany and has a one-stop contact person for everything related to setting up and registering a company. There are some areas of economic activity which are subject to more regulatory constraints, including finance and, by extension, Fintechs.

Regulatory environment for financial services

Financial trades and banking operations may only be carried out in Germany with a licence from the Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht, BaFin). The Hamburg Chamber of Commerce offers a good overview of the requirements for obtaining a licence, and in more complex cases, it can be advisable to take expert advice (and we’ll be happy to point you in the right direction!). In some instances, cooperation with an existing licenced institute can be a suitable alternative to obtaining a dedicated BaFin licence, and both the Hamburg-based Sutor Bank and Fidor in Munich run platforms for this kind of solution.

We offer support for Fintechs coming to Hamburg at every stage

Always happy to help

Do you need more information on Hamburg as a business location? Would you like an overview of companies operating in the city? Or are you looking for contacts in the Hamburg Fintech scene or in the established finance sector? Just get in touch with us and ask! We’re always happy to help.

Contact us now

Fintech Agency is operated by Finanzplatz Hamburg e.V. and Hamburg Invest

Need some information? We’re always happy to help. Just send us an e-mail to agency@fintech-hamburg.com or use this contact sheet.

With the sending of the contact form your entered data are stored. You can find further information in our Privacy Policy.

Need some information? Our team is always happy to help. Contact us now

Close

Research

Ein Mix aus wirtschaftlicher Vielfalt und hoher Lebensqualität macht aus Hamburg eine der dynamischsten Wirtschaftsregionen Europas. Ob Industrie, Maritime Wirtschaft, Logistik, Luftfahrt, Medien- und Kreativwirtschaft, Life Sciences oder Handel und Finanzwirtschaft, Hamburg ist in all diesen Segmenten stark aufgestellt. Am Finanz- und Fintech-Standort im speziellen, sind in der Stadt eine große Bandbreite von Akteuren mit vielfältigen Geschäftsmodelle ansässig. Rund 50.000 Menschen arbeiten in der Finanzbranche und erzielen eine jährliche Wertschöpfung von über 5 Mrd. Euro. Hamburg ist die Stadt der Hidden Champions: Ob Vermögensverwaltung, Außenhandelsfinanzierung, Transportversicherung, Sachwertinvestments und spezifische Fintech-Angebote – in vielen Bereichen sind Hamburger Finanzdienstleister Marktführer.

Fintechs in Hamburg

In Hamburg finden Sie über 40 FinTechs, die sich mit den Themen Analytics & Research, Assistants & Self Service, Banking, Inkasso, Comparison Sites, Finance, Crowd Investing, Versicherungen, Legal Tech, Payments, Savings & Trade Finance auseinandersetzen. Einige der größten sind Kreditech, die kurzfristige Kredite auf Basis von Online-Daten bereitstellt, und Deposit Solutions als Plattform für die Vermittlung von Spareinlagen zwischen Privatanlegern und kapitalsuchenden Banken. Finanzcheck agiert als Kreditvergleichsseite und Online-Versicherungsmakler, während Figo die technischen Schnittstellen zur Integration von innovativen Finanzangeboten in die Online-Präsenz von Banken schafft und Exporo der Marktführer im Immobilien-Crowdfunding ist.. Viele der mehr als drei Dutzend Hamburger FinTechs haben einen B2B-Fokus. Einen Überblick über die bereits ansässigen Fintechs bietet unser laufend aktualisierter Fintech-Monitor

Finanzstandort

Daneben ist die Stadt ein etablierter Finanzstandort mit großer Tradition und einem engen Netzwerk zur Realwirtschaft, zu Wissenschaft und Politik. Die Wege sind kurz und man kennt sich. Mit dem Finanzplatz Hamburg hat Hamburg eine private Clusterinitiative, die für ein starkes Netzwerk, Austausch auf höchstem Niveau und eine Fintech-Initiative steht. Deutschland im allgemeinen und Hamburg im speziellen bieten ein unternehmerfreundliches Businessumfeld, wenn es um die rechtlichen Voraussetzungen der Unternehmensansiedlung geht. Abhängig von Faktoren wie der gewählten Rechtsform und dem konkreten Geschäftsgegenstand kann die Gründung einer Niederlassung von rechtlicher Seite mit relativ geringem Aufwand erfolgen.

Rechtliche Voraussetzungen der Ansiedlung

Nahezu jede unternehmerische Tätigkeit erfordert eine Gewerbeanzeige. Dies ist mit geringem administrativen Aufwand getan. Abhängig von der Rechtsform des Unternehmens kann zusätzlich eine Registrierung im Handelsregister erforderlich sein. Einen Überblick über die verschiedenen Möglichkeiten der Expansion nach Deutschland bietet die Handelskammer Hamburg. Diese berät zum Beispiel durch den dort ansässigen Einheitlichen Ansprechpartner zu diesen Themen. Einige Wirtschaftssegmente sind jedoch stärker reguliert. Dazu gehört auch der Sektor der Finanzwirtschaft und damit auch Fintechs.

Das regulatorische Umfeld für Finanzdienstleistungen

Finanzgeschäfte sind in Deutschland erlaubnispflichtig. Wer Bankgeschäfte betreiben oder Finanzdienstleistungen anbietet, benötigt eine Erlaubnis der Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht (BaFin). Einen guten Überblick über die dafür zu erbringenden Voraussetzungen bietet die Handelskammer Hamburg. Bei entsprechender Komplexität ist die Beratung durch einen Fachmann anzuraten. Hier helfen wir gerne! Eine mögliche Alternative zur eigenen BaFin-Erlaubnis ist die Kooperation mit Instituten, die im Besitz einer entsprechenden Lizenz sind. Die Hamburger Sutor Bank oder die Münchener Fidor Bank sind zum Beispiel in diesem Feld aktiv und bieten entsprechende Plattformen an.

Wir helfen weiter

Sie brauchen mehr Informationen zum Business-Umfeld in Hamburg, einen Überblick über die bereits vor Ort ansässigen Player, Kontakte ins Hamburger Fintech-Umfeld oder Ansprechpartner in der hiesigen etablierten Finanzwirtschaft. Dann kontaktieren Sie uns. Wir helfen gerne!

Jetzt Kontakt aufnehmen

Die Fintech Agency ist eine Initative des Finanzplatz Hamburg e.V. und Hamburg Invest

Bei Fragen stehen wir Ihnen jederzeit unter agency@fintech-hamburg.de oder über folgendes Formular zur Verfügung:

Mit dem Senden des Kontaktformulars werden Ihre eingegebenen Daten gespeichert. Weitere Informationen können Sie unserer Datenschutzerklärung entnehmen.

Bei Fragen hinsichtlich der Ansiedelung stehen Ihnen Stefan Klein und Clas Beese jederzeit zur Verfügung. Kontakt aufnehmen