Startseite » Fintechs in Hamburg

Fintechs
in Hamburg

In Germany, there is a lively, constantly changing fintech scene. More than two thirds of German fintechs are based in the fintech hotspots Berlin, Hamburg, Munich and Frankfurt. Start-ups and financing rounds are concentrated here (source: Fintech Startup Monitor 2021, Bundesverband Deutsche Startups). Hamburg is superbly positioned as a startup center and has a lively financial and fintech scene. Of around 700 startups in Hamburg (current number according to Startup Monitor of Hamburg Startups), more than 70 can be attributed to the fintech sector.

Tradition meets Digital

The financial industry in Hamburg has a long tradition. Commerzbank was founded here. With Berenberg Bank, the oldest German private bank is based in the Hanseatic city, while Hamburger Sparkasse is the first and largest savings bank in Germany. The Hamburger Börse is the oldest German stock exchange and the Hamburger Feuerkasse is even the oldest insurance company in the world. Innovation has a long tradition in Hamburg!

At the same time, a growing scene of more than 75 fintechs is making important contributions to the digitization of the financial industry. You will not only find a high quality of life in Hamburg, but also a strong digital ecosystem – Google, Facebook, Twitter and Xing, companies from the games, media and IT sectors, but also VC companies, business angels, incubators and providers of networks are on site with their headquarters.

Was are the biggest Fintechs in Hamburg?

The largest fintechs in Hamburg include Deposit Solutions, which offer a platform for arranging savings between private investors and capital-seeking banks, or Exporo, a platform through which private investors can invest in real estate projects. Many of Hamburg’s more than 70 fintechs have a B2B focus. In the Fintech Monitor we introduce you to them in more detail.

Which Fintech products are created in Hamburg?

The range of business models of Hamburg’s fintechs is very broad and diverse. In our Fintech Monitor you will find companies with a focus on analytics & research, assistants & self service, banking, collection, comparison sites, credit & factoring, crowd investing, insurance, legal tech, payments, savings & trade finance.

Fintech Monitor
Ecosystem Monitor
Fintech Monitor
Ecosystem Monitor

PROMOTION AND FINANCING OF FINTECHS

In terms of financing, fintechs from the four German hotspots Berlin, Hamburg, Frankfurt and Munich also account for a large proportion of the financing rounds, currently almost three quarters. Hamburg fintechs traditionally do well. Only Berlin currently has a larger share of financing rounds.

Fintech Hamburg as a showcase for fintech events in Hamburg, where the aim is to further promote the city as a fintech location – because in the end, the entire financial sector with its around 50,000 employees benefits from a strong fintech location and can continue to offer diverse and high-quality financial services to the real economy and private customers. A particular advantage of Hamburg is the only Fintech Week in Germany, which has been held annually since 2016.

Was brauchen Fintechs in Hamburg zum Wachsen?
Ein Mashup vom Finanzbarcamp 2016.

WHAT DOES THE FUTURE HOLD FOR FINTECHS IN HAMBURG?

In the meantime, it is no longer widely assumed that fintechs and banks are fundamentally confrontational. Traditional banks and financial institutions invest in fintechs and cooperate more closely with them. Fintechs even enjoy above-average cooperation with established companies. On the one hand, there is the considerable experience from the previous banking business, a broad customer base, and established trust. On the other hand, there is the digital know-how and fresh ideas of the fintech founders.

Connect with us!

Contact

Startseite » Fintechs in Hamburg

Fintechs
in Hamburg

In Deutschland gibt es eine rege, sich stetig verändernde Fintech-Szene. Mehr als zwei Drittel der deutschen Fintechs sind in den Fintech-Hotspots Berlin, Hamburg, München und Frankfurt ansässig. Neugründungen und Finanzierungsrunden konzentrieren sich hier (Quelle: Fintech -Startup-Monitor 2021, Bundesverband Deutsche Startups). Hamburg ist als Startup-Zentrum hervorragend aufgestellt und präsentiert sich mit einer lebendigen Finanz- und Fintech-Szene. Von rund 700 Startups in Hamburg (aktuelle Zahl laut Startup Monitor von Hamburg Startups) sind mehr als 70 dem Fintech-Sektor zuzuordnen.

Tradition trifft Digitales

Die Finanzwirtschaft in Hamburg hat eine lange Tradition. Die Commerzbank wurde hier gegründet. Mit der Berenberg Bank hat die älteste deutsche Privatbank ihren Sitz in der Hansestadt, die Hamburger Sparkasse ist die erste und auch größte Sparkasse Deutschlands. Die Hamburger Börse ist die älteste deutsche Börse und die Hamburger Feuerkasse sogar die älteste Versicherung weltweit. Innovation hat in Hamburg also Tradition!

Gleichzeitig leistet eine wachsende Szene von mehr als 70 Fintechs wichtige Beiträge zur Digitalisierung der Finanzwirtschaft. Sie finden in Hamburg nicht nur eine hohe Lebensqualität, sondern auch ein starkes digitales Ökosystem – Google, Facebook, Twitter und Xing, Unternehmen aus dem Bereich Games, Medien und IT, aber auch VC-Gesellschaften, Business-Angels, Inkubatoren und Anbieter von Netzwerken sind mit ihren Zentralen vor Ort.

Was sind die größten Fintechs in Hamburg?

Zu den größten Hamburger Fintechs gehören Deposit Solutions, die eine Plattform für die Vermittlung von Spargeldern zwischen Privatanlegern und kapitalsuchenden Banken anbieten oder Exporo, eine Plattform über die Privatanleger in Immobilienprojekte investieren können. Viele der mehr als 70 Hamburger Fintechs weisen einen B2B-Schwerpunkt auf. Im Fintech Monitor stellen wir sie Ihnen genauer vor.

Welche Fintech-Produkte entstehen in Hamburg?

Die Spanne der Geschäftsmodelle der Hamburger Fintechs ist sehr breit und vielfältig. In unserem Fintech-Monitor finden sich Unternehmen mit den Schwerpunkten Analytics & Research, Assistants & Self Service, Banking, Collection, Comparison Sites, Credit & Factoring, Crowd Investing, Insurance, Legal Tech, Payments, Savings & Trade Finance.

Fintech Monitor
Ecosystem Monitor
Fintech Monitor
Ecosystem Monitor

FÖRDERUNG UND FINANZIERUNG VON FINTECHS

Auch bei der Finanzierung vereinen Fintechs aus den  vier deutschen Hotspots Berlin, Hamburg, Frankfurt und München einen großen Anteil der Finanzierungsrunden, aktuell fast drei Viertel, auf sich. Hamburger Fintechs schneiden dabei traditionell gut ab. Einen größeren Anteil an Finanzierungsrunden weist aktuell nur Berlin auf.

Fintech Hamburg als Schaufenster für das Fintech-Geschehen in Hamburg soll den hiesigen Fintech-Standort weiter fördern – denn am Ende profitiert von einem starken Fintech-Standort der gesamte Wirtschaftszweig der Finanzwirtschaft mit seinen rund 50.000 Beschäftigten und kann Realwirtschaft und Privatkunden weiterhin vielfältige und hochwertige Finanzdienstleistungen anbieten. Ein besonderer Pluspunkt Hamburgs ist die bundesweit einzige Fintech Week, die seit 2016 jährlich stattfindet.

Was brauchen Fintechs in Hamburg zum Wachsen?
Ein Mashup vom Finanzbarcamp 2016.

WAS BRINGT DIE ZUKUNFT FÜR FINTECHS IN HAMBURG?

Mittlerweile wird nicht mehr weitläufig angenommen, Fintechs und Banken stünden sich grundsätzlich konfrontativ gegenüber. Klassische Banken und Finanzhäuser investieren in Fintechs und kooperieren verstärkt mit diesen.  Fintechs kooperieren sogar überdurchscnittlich viel mit etablierten Unternehmen.  Auf der einen Seite sitzen die große Erfahrung aus dem bisherigen Bankengeschäft, ein breiter Kundenstamm und gewachsenes Vertrauen. Auf der anderen Seite sitzen das digitale Know-how und frische Ideen der Fintech-Gründer.

Vernetzen auch Sie sich mit uns.

Kontakt
Kontakt